Lex Play: Alien Isolation – Mission 6: Outbreak

*spoilers  for Alien Isolation – Mission 6 are contained within.*

Ugh, ugh, ugh.  Ok I found Mission 6 a massive slog.  The level starts off with more of Alien hide and seek and then introduces some scavengers near the end of the mission and an android for good measure.  My first issue with the mission was with the Alien’s moments, which could at be best described as like a hyperactive puppy and at worse a teleporting monstrosity.  At one stage I ducked into a side corridor to avoid a scavenger who opened fire as I crept away, quickly the Alien was on him.  As the scavenger was torn asunder I tried to sneak away only for the monster to appear from the opposite direction and quickly run me down.  In another instance I saw drool dropping from an open air vent, cautiously I sneaked around the vent only to instantly see more drool coming from the next vent.  How did it move so fast? Did it know where I was? If it did why didn’t it just drop down and take my lightly armed self down then and there?  These tricks didn’t improve the atmosphere they just made the game feel cheap and unrealistic.

Another issue I had was with the save system.  While I understand that making you wait save at specific points is a deliberate tactic, near the end of the level the game play shifts.  I was caught by an Alien during a cut scene but just as it was about to pounce an explosion sent it scarpering away, leaving me alone in a room on fire quickly running out of air.  Quickly I ran down what seemed like an obvious escape route only to find myself trapped.  I died twice in the same spot only to resort to gamefaq’s to find the answer.  Basically you have to jump onto a ladder that’s basically covered in fucking fire, but anyway.  Each time I died on what felt like a side line activity I was dumped right back to my last save.  This meant that I had to sneak back through a bunch of stuff that I’d done to get back to the next final room section to have another try at what felt like a light puzzle.  Having a cut scene and game play shift made me feel like I was entitled to a save point and ramped up the annoyance attached to each one of my deaths.

That said I’m still not through with this game.  Yes I’m going to push on.  I think some of my issues have been caused by not utilizing any of the in game items I’ve been crafting as I’ve gone along.  In fact I’ve treated the whole system as a side show only making items to keep from maxing out my component slots. The atmosphere and graphics still feel top notch.  Also there was a slight reference to Blade Runner another Ridley Scott film that I felt I had to reference here.

Leave a Reply

