Lex Play: Alien Isolation – Mission 2: Welcome to Sevastopol

*spoilers for Alien Isolation – Mission 2 are contained within this post.*

In the cut scene between chapter one and two, two of the NPC’s who you started the game with are seemly killed in an accident crossing from the Torrens to Sevastopol.  Well Ripley seems to be still trying to find them, but the only way I can see them making a come back is as a frozen popsicle slamming into a window somewhere.  For once I was quite sad to see them go as they were well characterised especially Taylor the space sick lawyer.

Back to the actual game, mission two starts inside Sevastopol where something has very obviously gone very wrong.  Walls are scrawled with graffiti the power is down  and equipment is trashed.  Walking around you hear the space station creaking around you.  All of this works well to keep up the ominous atmosphere but as I walked around it dawned on me that this level was more of a haunted house than an actual game level as nothing can seemly kill you.  I think there may be one point near the end of the end of the mission where you can die but it was so simple I never felt threatened.  The lack of any real threat really worked against the atmosphere and I found myself getting slightly bored at points.

This level is more of training level as it slowly introduces the gaming elements.  Mainly the flash light, door opening tools and a bit of stealth.    I found the game builds very slowly and I kind of wish it could have thrown a bit more challenge my way.

Halfway through the level you run across  Axel, a crazy Scottish guy who holds you up before quickly changing his mind and helping you.  His appearance kept up my interest and overall I have to say I’m currently enjoying my experience.

Leave a Reply

